Ask Me Anything

Gill Lough – Helping your child develop a healthy sexuality

Mom, do you have sex with the men you date?

leave a comment »

The 11-year-old daughter of a single mother asked this question.

If your child asks you a similar question, ask yourself, “Why is she/he asking that?” There is often a question behind the question. It is an opportunity to understand the question your child really wants answered.

In responding remember what you want them to learn. A positive response could be:

‘I’m happy to talk about my choices. I thought hard about them and they were right for me at the time. My choice may not be the right one for you when you get older. But first tell me why you want to know.’

This answer gives the message that this is an okay topic to discuss, that wise choices require thought, and that you are prepared to help your child learn to choose wisely.

Written by frombirthtopuberty

January 18, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Leave a comment